Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
628 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

I just propagated my Eriocaulon cinereum for the first time and did a little photo documentation of it. It doesn't seem like a very common plant in the U.S., but is really cool and can be had from any LFS that can order from Oriental Aquarium. Thanks for looking.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Nice post and very helpful thank you. I have been growing this plant for a few months and it is probably time that I did the same thing. I really love this plant I just wish it would grow a little faster.

Robert.

·
Registered
120 Posts
I don't have this plant, but I'm curious:

Is it important that the red part gets divided? What is that red part?

·
Registered
106 Posts
HI,

This is the case when we propagate Eriocaulon, be it cinerium or other sp. And sometimes it takes more than a few months to have one split like that......

Cheeers
Vincent

·
Registered
628 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It is kind of reddish pink, and I didn't even know it was there till I divided the plant. I think it is just a really short runner or something because it is a rosette plant, but that is what attaches the two plants together.

·
Registered
628 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Here is a picture of them in my tank...they are still pretty small, but they have about doubled in quantity in the almost 2 months I have had them. They are realllllllllyyyyyy slow growers, so they don't look like much yet. They have really extensive root systems and are VERY heavy root feeders.

·
Premium Member
5,865 Posts
Thanks to Erirku for trading such a nice example of this plant recently, I was able to perform this "surgery" myself and yielding 5 plants from one. The biggest tipoff that it is ready are the leaf blades growing in opposite directions of one another. Below is a picture of where I made some of my cuts.

Attachments

·
Registered
628 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·