Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
155 Posts
Looks sweet. So I assume you have essentially a 75g or 1.6wpg. That's not a lot, are you using window light as well? I'm no expert at this size, for my 10 and 20, I don't use filter media, just use the power filter to generate some current. It looks so heavily planted, I would give it a go from what I have read. Just make sure you have something to move the water a little, tank that size need to have some water movement to evenly distribute the temperature and move carbon, oxygen and nutrients in the water around the plants.

· Registered
155 Posts
Still, I would give it a go. I did for my 10 gallon and all seems fine. His tank is so heavily planted, I don't see the filter sponge playing that much of a role. I doubt any significant role since he doesn't clean them at all. Besides, when he does filter sponge replacements, it's like the same thing going cold turkey with a new filter sponge. I would not even bother with this but you can do it slowly. Since it's canister, you have a staged filtering media. You can remove one stage at a time over course of 2-3 weeks or you can remove half the bio filter or whatever in steps.

· Registered
155 Posts