Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Wanted to know if anybody has any recommendations for keeping Riccia Fluitans put. I seem to find that along with growth, it works it's way out of the thread that I use to keep it in place and up to the surface. Is this just a part of keeping this plant type?

·
Registered
143 Posts
Try a hair net. I found them in packs of 3 at Publix in the hair care section. I am a total plant noob, but my riccia rock is looking awesome after a week, with almost no escapers. Don't know how easy it would be to use on drift wood, but on a rock that you intend to completly cover with riccia, the hair net is far easier to work with than fishing line.

The hair net I have is very very fine nylon, invisible when stretched over the riccia. After I spread the riccia on the rock, I stretched the hair net over it, tied it off, and cut off the excess.

·
Registered
1,041 Posts
ADA offers a RICCIA LINE and a RICCIA STONE that are excellent for attaching RICCIA- especially for foregrounds. The stone is super thin and totally flat so it lays perfectly on the substrate and will all grow nice and even- very consistent. The line is just the right thickness so it wraps very nicley and leaves no "gaps" or loose spots on the edges of whatever you are attaching it to ( more jagged stone, wood, etc.). The color is perfect also as it matches the color of Riccia specifically.
I am sure over the years/in the early days Amano encountered the same sorts of issues as you are here- trying to grow such plants more ideally, and these issues are the basis for ADA perfected design and function-specific product development.
Perhaps even just checking out the ADA method(s) will give you a DIY idea. Just take into account the specifics- line thickness/weight, etc. Just getting some light green fishing line may not do it- it may work, but you'll still have "issues" (line loose around the edges bacause it's too thick, etc.)