Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,475 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to offer some of my extra plants to members before trading them in at the LFS. One problem, I have no idea how to ship plants since I've never done it before. So I need help... Please give me instructions on how to ship plants.

·
Registered
254 Posts
Cut length to fit a 1gal freezer bag, wrap in newspaper, fold nicely, moisten, place in zipplock bag, if you have bubblewrap handy that is a nice added feature, then I just carry to post office, and get a priority box that fits close, and tah dah....usually $3.85 priority shipping...

·
Registered
2,988 Posts
PErsonally, I don't like newspaper as I find it to drying. I have been unhappy with plants that arrived in newspaper. I prefer the cheap brown, crappy papertowls you find in restrooms, schools and the like. The janitor for the building I work in gives me mostly used rools when I ask. I use a spray bottle to wet enough paper towels to wrap around the plants one or twice, usually I double wrap tehm. Wet the paper towel enough that it is very damp. Not soaking wet or anything. To much water and the plants can begin to rot or get cooked in hot weather, or freeze in cold weather. Usually I place single species in each package adn place them in an approbriotly size zipper bag. Fold the bag up withthe plants inside as you squeeze the air out and seal. Leave just enough air that the bag cannot be flattened and squash the plants. Place them a Priority Mail box, pack with newspaper, bubble wrap or styro, seal, address and ship. I print shipping labels and postage on the computer the night before and afix the label to the box, ready for hte next morning. Hardier species get boxed the night before. Once you purchase and print your label you can also request a free carrier pick up. Basically, this notifies your posal carrier that they will be picking up a priority mail package at your residence or work.