Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well i'm new here but I figure'd i'd share some pics of my tank. It's always a work in progress, and i'm still not happy with it :( please give me all the suggestions you guys can come up with, becuase i'm still a newbie with alot of this stuff!

Specs:
29 gallon
2 T-5 lights, 2.7 WPG (made for $5, im a poor college student :D ) on 10 hours/day
DIY CO2 w/glass diffuser
Whisper 60 filter and an additional powerhead to spread CO2
Daily Seachem dosing (Flourish, Excel, Trace, Potassium, Iron, etc..)

Fish: Pair of German Blue Rams, Peppered Cory Cats, Kuhli Loaches, Black Skirt tetras, Ottos, neon/cardinal tetras, Amano Shrimp.

How it currently sits minus the wood (more pics to come):

I just upgraded my filter because my old one gave no cicrulation. My current plans are to get rid of the Neons/Cardinals and adding more ottos, Amano shrimp and small shoal of something, not sure yet though. I am also still fighting some plant problems. First off, no matter what my Vals manage to piss me off lol. They grow so fast that I have to trim 6+ inches off every week, and then they discolor at the tips. Also, my Dwarf Hairgrass is always fighting what I believe is BBA, but I'm not sure. It is the only plant that's still showing signs of an algae problem. I would love a lush carpet of hairgrass around the sides and then use Dwarf Baby Tears in the center. Can you guys make some suggestions?

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh, and also here's a pic of my old layout, I know both of these are nothing compared to alot of people's tanks. Sorry for the not-so-great pics, i'll take some more soon and keep this updated!

·
Registered
17 Posts
You made lights for 5 bucks? I also am a poor college student, so if you have a link to a how to or anything on building those lamps i would love to take a look!

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #4