Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to NPT and have 2 tanks set up: 20galH with dirt from my yard and 1.8 gal bowl using organic miracle grow potting soil. The 20 gal started with the following 3mo ago:

anubius
crypt
green comboba
elodea
creeping charlie
lobielia
duckweed
Fish: 2 cories, 3 cherry barbs, 2 marble crays, cherry shrimp, snails

Ammonia and nitrites are 0 consistently. pH high at 8.2 and hardness at 250ppm. I put native rock in the tank as I want to mimic our native hard water in the chicago area. Water temp 77-81; no heater.

During the first week the creeping charlie and lobelia had rotted completely through at the stems bases and floated to the surface and eventually just disappeared. A few holes appeared in the anubias and the crypt lost leaves. I have no natural lighting available for this tank so I added a T5HO dual light hood and the anubius and crypte have hung in there but only grown a few leaves. The combaba and elodea have gradually rotted through but now grow as a dense floating mat.

The snails were proliferative initially but now only a few are left. The cray has multiplied and the fish seem very healthy.

I trimmed the floating mat -- one combaba string was 4' long! Cut them short and tried them in a 1.8 gal aquarium with normal water quality and pH 7.4, and 14W cool white fluorescent. They are still rotting away.

Any ideas?

·
Super Moderator
5,888 Posts
Welcome to APC!

Please tell us a little more about your tanks. How deep are the soil layer and cap of your substrate? Do you have any filtration or water circulation?

Anubias and cryptocoryne both grow slowly, and crypts often shed leaves when transplanted, "melting". So they are not acting abnormal.

Some crayfish are very destructive to plants, could they be munching through the stems at the substrate?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick reply - much appreciated.