Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am planning to build a 45 gallon tank using Aquasoil Amazonia II as the substrate. I intend to grow Glossotigma as the carpet plant. How deep should the substrate be for growing glosso? Thanks a lot.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Not too deep, you could get away with .5 inches since glosso doesn't form deep roots, but 1 inch would be better in the long run if you plan to add other plants.
I heard some other people saying that the substrate's depth should be kept at around 3 inches. Since I am a beginner, what should I follow? 0.5 inches as Zapins suggested above or 3 inches?

Sorry Zapins, I did not mean to not believe you. Since the difference between 0.5 and 3 inches are quite large, I am kind of confused. Does anyone have any thoughts?

·
Super Moderator
6,406 Posts
You asked how deep it has to be for glosso to grow as a minimum. Half an inch will do fine for glosso only. However, I did recommend a deeper substrate if you plan on adding other plants.

3 inches is towards the the deeper end of substrate thickness. Most people tend to keep substrates between 1-2.5 inches so anywhere in that range will be fine for stem plants etc...

If you plan on having heavy root feeders like water lilies or amazon swords then a deep 3 inch substrate might be in order.

Deep substrates tend to become anaerobic. Anaerobic conditions mean a lack of oxygen that plants need to grow. Hydrogen sulfide is produced by bacteria in anaerobic conditions that can kill fish and plants. Now I am not suggesting that aquasoil will become anaerobic in a three inch layer, but fine sand and soil will. Just a bit to think about.

A substrate that is anywhere between 1 and 2.5 inches is ideal for most aquarium plants (I use 2 inch substrates in all my tanks). If you are only growing glosso then half an inch is fine since it doesn't form roots more than half an inch long.