Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am doing a tank that will have substrate heating cables. I plan on using Azoo substrate fertilizer (The 7 color kind). is this advisable? I've never worked with substrate heating cables before.

Also since the office will be temperature controlled..... is the cable ever even goin to go on?

·
Premium Member
5,448 Posts
Living in Florida, why would you want substrate heating cables?? In the Orlando area it rarely gets below 40, plus you're in a temperature controlled office. If it were me, I'd get an in tank heater for those rare days when it gets cold, and use the money saved to upgrade my lighting or substrate. Just my 2 cents worth. :)

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well i am setting up the tanks for the lobby where i work. They requested that i use some of their products that they are thinking of adding to their catalog. One of course is the substrate heating cables.

·
Registered
4,700 Posts
Miracle Gro potting soil is going to be loaded with fertilizer---way too much for aquatic plants! You will get a really nasty mess when it or any fertilized potting soil goes anaerobic under the gravel.

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Its alright as far as i can tell. Its been setup for a couple months. its an expirement/farm tank anyhow.

Will the azoo color concentrated substrate fertilizer be bad to use with heating cables?

·
Banned
2,069 Posts
Well what is the point of adding something to the substrate?

For the plant's roots?
For long term fert?
For when you do not add enough to the water column?

A heating cable will bring more of the nutrients up into the water column than without one.

It is also not needed, I've never once heard anything to suggest cables are better other than George Booth's assertions but even he doubts their utility on a critical level.

They don't hurt IMO/IME.

I've used them for 10 years on 7 different tanks.