Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Back in early June I posted my first thread in the forum. I've had my planted tank up and running since then and wanted to post some pics of the results so far. Originally I planned an Asian themed tank, but then the discus bug hit me (again). It's been about 9 years since I last kept these wonderful fish and I'm very happy I went that direction again. This tank is giving me a lot more joy than my reef tank at half the price.

I appreciate any feedback or suggestions. I'm still very new to plants so the tank is only full of fairly easy species. My primary focus is on the discus, but I still would love to add more colorful plants if you have any recommendations. I run 3wpgs with daily doses of excel on a timer and dose flourish 2x a week.

Attachments

·
Registered
251 Posts
Looks very nice! Those swords you have growing in front of the driftwood are eventually going to get very, very big and will probably have to be moved.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the nice words. Actually, only one of them is a sword (far left), the other two are anubias. You can't really see it in the pic, but there is a lot of open space on the left side of my tank where I planted a lot of corkscrew val that only seems to grow about 6-8". Hopefully the sword up front will fill in some of that space.

·
Registered
4,116 Posts
Erock,

Your tank looks like it's well established and has quite a few plants. I bet you don't have issues with the maintenance.

Do you use CO2?

What kinds of light do you have?

--Nikolay

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Niko,

Thanks. I don't use CO2, but I do have an eheim doser that adds Excel throughout the day. I also add a little extra Excel after my weekly water change.