Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have no experience with keeping fully planted aquariums.

This will be my very first fully planted aquarium and the tank that I will be using is the Tetra Wonder's 16 Gallon Aquarium.

The stock aquarium includes a fully covered plastic canopy that house's a 15W T8 bulb and an internal whisper filter.

The dimensions of the aquarium 22"L x 12"W x 16"H.

Because of the lighting system that is integrated with the canopy I have decided to remove this canopy as the lighting is clearly not enough and I'm not able to install a retro fit lighting system with the space provided.

At the moment I have the choice to either put 96W 6,700K Fixture or 2x96W 6,700K/10,000K Fixture, but I am open to other suggestions.

***Please note that I want to make my aquarium the ultimate planted aquarium so I am open to any and all suggestions.

For heating I have a 100W Aqueon Submersible heater, which I will use to heat the aquarium's water. Also I will be using Red Sea's Root Therm 160 Heating Cable to heat the substrate.

For filtration I'm currently using Current USA's SubCurrent Filter. The reason why I'm using this filter is because it limits water surface agitation(depending on how the dual nozzle is positioned) and allows the surface to be skimmed as the filter acts like an over flow box.
I'm finding that this filter does not provide the water circulation that I want in my aquarium. Also because it is an internal filter it does take a bit of plant real estate, which I need if I'm planning to create a Moss Wall
One of the key issues with this aquarium is that I need enough flow within the aquarium without causing a lot of surface agitation.
If anyone can make a better suggestion for filtering I'm all for it.