Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to planted tanks and have realized that I need stronger lighting. I have a 75gal with 7 blue rams, 2 bolivian rams and 8 jewel cichlids. I know the jewels can be aggressive but everyone seems to get along fine. I also have 3 common crayfish, an electric blue cobalt crayfish, and an australian zebra crayfish. I have started getting a few plants each week, like money wort some acorus which i have realized is not true aquatic. So to my question I was looking at this light since it isnt to expensive and is rated at 260 watts and here are the bulbs it comes with. This unit comes with 4 - 65 Watt bulbs - (2) 12,000K daylights and (2) 03 true actinics. Below is the link to the auction. Let me know what you think. And love the site so much info it overwhelming.

http://cgi.ebay.com/AQUARIUM-LIGHT-...ryZ46314QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Would you recommend adding the fans and also would those bulbs be ok or should I ask for different ones. If so what do you suggest. Thanks

·
Registered
116 Posts
I'd also recommend getting a T5 fixture over a power compact fixture. T5 bulbs (w/ individual reflectors) are more efficient than PC bulbs, so you can get away with less wattage and a cooler running setup, but still get the same amount of usable light.

Personally, I use a Sunlight Supply Tek Light fixture. They're a bit expensive, but I've been very happy with it so far.

A couple other things:

- Actinic lighting is geared for saltwater tanks, not planted tanks; don't use actinic lighting
- If you do upgrade the lighting to a couple hundred watts or more, you will need CO2 injection and also to up your other nutrient dosing to keep up with the demands of the plants from the stronger lighting

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·