Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using a fluval 104 for 3 years in my 30 gallon cube. It's got a pretty low flow rate, and I've been battling algae for the past 6 months. I clean it once a month and replace the media every so often. How many gallons/hour should I be looking for? If I was going to spend up to $200, what should I get?

·
Registered
151 Posts
Im going thru the same situation now too(for a 29 gallon).
Im deciding between a
1- Filstar XP1(250gph) $95 or
2- Sunsun Perfect(260gph?) ~$45 or
3- Marineland HOT (250gph) $75 [has a diffusor for air on the out take so idk]

·
Registered
140 Posts
IM using a Marineland HOT MAG on my 29 and its not bad....theres a few things i really like about it

1-the watter polisher

2-the media basket...(i just put fluval ceramic bio media in it)and use the filter sleeve

3-you can almost aim the return anywhere you wont ( i even had a xp 1 spray bar on it for a wile )

·
Registered
151 Posts
IM using a Marineland HOT MAG on my 29 and its not bad....theres a few things i really like about it

1-the watter polisher

2-the media basket...(i just put fluval ceramic bio media in it)and use the filter sleeve

3-you can almost aim the return anywhere you wont ( i even had a xp 1 spray bar on it for a wile )
Is it on a planted tank with co2 injection?
I love marinelands products and have had my emperors for 7 years now, no problems. My dad has had the larger canister on his 75 for about ten years.

·
Registered
2,195 Posts
I have been running the Fluval 204 on my 29 gallon tanks, and would not want a smaller filter than that.
One of them needs to be replaced, so I am thinking of an XP2. I have had too many problems with the Fluvals to want to repeat.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·