Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,966 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a strong believer in newcomers using certain test kits to understand their aquariums. Once the tank's parameters stabilize and the aquatic gardener gains sufficient experience to learn to read the plants, he or she can lay off the testing and go with the flow.

What are your thoughts?

·
Registered
1,710 Posts
I am new to the hobby and havent used any test kits yet, but I sure wish I had some! I lost some fish during the cycle that probably could have been prevented. Luckily I met someone to help me out with fertilizer doses and other questions so I am able to get by without them. The main problem I have been having is trying to determine which test kits are best for my $$ (which i dont have much of!) I know the LaMotte kits are the best, but they are pricey, so I was thinking of getting Tetras kits in PH, Nitrite/Nitrate, KH, GH, and maybe Iron and Phosphate. Will those be okay?

·
Premium Member
3,966 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Kevin,

I would invest in a pH, NO3, PO4 and Fe test kits. I used the Hagen ones in the past that weren't too pricy but did a fair job. If possible, spring for a KH/GH kit.

If the above is not possible, call your local water company and get a detail of the elements in the water. Then, add to your tap what is missing to get to the above referenced numbers. Using a little math and chemistry together with weekly water changes can avoid the need for the test kits.

·
Registered
426 Posts
Art_Giacosa said:
I am a strong believer in newcomers using certain test kits to understand their aquariums.
I am a strong believer in the opposite. ::puts on boxing gloves:: :D Aside from the KH and pH test kits, the rest are very unnecessary.