Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

Im an absolute beginner in setting up a npt, and i am currently having issues.
My tank:
6 gallon nanocube
Cheap Lowes topsoil
Crushed eggshells
Gravel from petco

I put in 1.5 inch of topsoil, and 2 in of gravel.
I carefully put in water and the water quality seems great.
30 min later, there was a white cloud but it wasnt that bad.
This morning the water was totally reddish yellow.

I know that soil leaches, but what was your experience with leaching soil, and on average how many timew did you have to change the water in order to stop the leaching?

·
Registered
155 Posts
1.5 inch of soil is on the high side. Most time it's around 1 inch but still ok. 2 inches of substrate is too much. Have it around 1 inch too. For a 6 gallon tank which is small, you are covering up 3.5 inches of vertical space already! I have not experienced any leaching in my setup. Usually, I try to remove as much of the wood chips I find in the soil before putting in the aquarium. Changing the water completely the next day and then increase the duration and do partial until it clears up. You have six gallon and ~20% used by soil/substrate so it's not too bad to change the water.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your advice..

I decided to scrap the soil after i changed the water 3 times in a row...the soil just kept getting muddier..it was a nightmare. I'll be picking up some flourite tomorrow.

I still have a small 2.5 gallon that i am dying to try...this time i'll use a lot less soil and see how it goes.

·
Premium Member
5,865 Posts
Where did the soil come from? I've tried using soil from my yard and it has way too much clay in it.

·
Premium Member
450 Posts
First of all, sorry to hear that you had a bad first experience :( ... I know that I did too when I first tried to set up a tank using soil but after another try or two, it's not that hard.