Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I've been running a 10 gallon naturally planted aquarium for several months now and I've just recently found a fry fish in my tank! The tank is heavily planted so the fry could already be a few days old and just got lucky hiding in the plants from my other fish, but I was lucky enough to spot him and take him out before anything else could eat him! Now I'm keeping him in a little cup my petco betta came from but I really don't know how to care for him. Hopefully some of the more experienced members here can help me out.

Let me start with a list of all my fish.
3 Harlequin Rasboras
3 Jumbo Neon Tetras
2 Sunburst Platys (Both are female)
1 Betta

I'm pretty sure the fry is a baby tetra, but I've included some pictures so I can hopefully get a second identification.
WARNING: VERY high resolution.

Can anybody confirm that this is a tetra fry? :peep:

Now if this is a baby tetra, what can I feed him safely? I've read that I can culture infusoria to feed him, but would these already be present in my 10 gallon tank water? Maybe I could just spoon some of that water into his cup every day?
If he can eat pulverized flake food then I have a good mortar and pestle and a pair of tweezers standing by.

Lastly how closely should I follow his water parameters in this small cup home and how quickly can I expect him to grow up? I don't expect anything this small to greatly impact his environment, but I've been proven wrong before.

Thanks everyone for the help! I have never raised fish fry before but I hope to save this little guy and give him a happy new home for his adult life. ;)

·
Registered
478 Posts
i dont know what it is but i think it needs filtration and a heater. i also think you should try to culture some infusoria. im pretty sure there are more in your tank so you should try to get them all out before they get eaten.

·
Registered
37 Posts