Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to diatom filter (in fact, most ppl in my country never heard of it, amazing, isn't it?), I got this XL canister, basically, its an XL without the motorhead.

Here is what I did to start it for the first time. Filled the bucket with water, put the powerhead which connect to the filter inlet and the outlet tube into the bucket, start the powerhead, and dumped the whole bag of powder that came with the filter into the bucket. I waited until water runs crystal clear.

I was a bit paraniod, so I stop the powerhead, waited for a min or so, and restarted the powerhead. To my surprise, a lot of powder managed to escape from the filter, and cloud the water, and then it runs clear again in just a few mins. I tried a couple of restarts, all resulted very cloudy water at the beginning. So I worry that if I start using it in my tank, a lot of powder will end up inside the tank upon each restart.

Is this normal? Have I done anything wrong? Is there any tricks I don't know about?

Thanks
Kenneth

·
Premium Member
3,966 Posts
Kenneth,

Welcome to APC!

I don't have any experience with the Vortex. Hopefully, someone who does will chime in. Could there be some way that the powder is escaping into the outlet tubing when you turn it off and the powder comes to rest?

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the warm welcome! This is a great site, and ppl here are even greater!

Actually, I don't think there is any leak, after each time I stopped the powerhead, I could see very small particles coming off from the surface of the filter bag. I think somehow, when the pressure of the powerhead's gone, some powder would get through, though I don't know why nor it makes sense to me...

Thanks
Kenneth

·
Registered
542 Posts
Kenneth,

Usually to prepare the vortex XL:
1) You put the two hose siphons into the tank.