Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, im new to planted aquariums and a few days ago i bought my first freshwater tank it is 20G (24 x 13 x 17 inches) it comes with a fluorecent lamp (one bulb) and now i have 8 guppies 3 java fern 1 Broadleaf anubias and 7 Egeria densa. i use Fluorite sustrate my filter is Aquaclear 50.

My questions are. How many fish do you recommend me to have and what?

It is a low tech tank and i dont add CO2 so what lightning is better??

28 Watts T5 Normal Output---if this i would buy 2 of them (56 total watts, 2.8 wpg)

48 watts T5 High Output------ if this i would buy only one (48 total watts, 2.4 wpg)

65 watts Powercompact-------if this i would buy only one(65 total watts, 3.25 wpg)

And what plants do you recommend me to start??

Thanks!!

·
Registered
1,744 Posts
I use one 55w Power compact from ahsupply.com for my 20g long. It's perfect. No C02 and the plants do great.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I couldnt find a PC for freshwater aquarium. so i ordered 2 lamps, coralife aqualight T5 normal output 28 watts each a total of 56 Watts

What plants could i have with this lights?? (no CO2)

and how many fish can i have in a 20G planted aquarium (i already have 8 guppies)

thanks!!

·
Registered
66 Posts
With that lighting (almost 3 wpg) you could grow just about anything, I would however recommend some form of carbon addition, probably in the form of Flourish excel since you don't want to run CO2, as well as a good dosing regimen depending on fish load. The fish selection is entirely up to you, depends if you want a community setting where you could get some cardinal tetra, platys, rummynose, angels, etc. or if you're looking for a species tank such as a couple cichlids like yellow labs or electric blue, etc. A general rule is one inch of fish per gallon, but some fish like the cichlids require a little more space to be happy. Hope that helps!!

·
Registered
11 Posts