Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone
I am new to this forum but Ive been on other forums so Im not a total newbie =). Heres my question for you all, what in your opinion is the best substrate or substrate combo that youve ever used? Ive only had experience with fluorite and eco-complete but I would love to hear everyone else's opinion on this as I am planning on planting a 40 gallon and would love some opinions. Thanks =).

·
Premium Member
3,966 Posts
Ptahkeem,

Welcome to APC! :D

IMO, there is no one "best" substrate. There are several substrates that perform very well in a planted aquarium setting.

Flourite, Eco-Complete, Florabase, Aqua Soil, Onyx Sand all work well and have their pros and cons. Heck, even good old sand/gravel + laterite will work well.

I prefer to use a two layer substrate because I like to have some organics in the substrate. Amano does something similar. I use a home-made version of Power Sand and cover the first inch or so of the aquarium's bottom. I then layer 3-4 inches of Akadama soil but it could be any of the above commercial products also.

This combination has worked well for me for many years. It provides an acidic substrate solution that keeps key nutrients in solution, avoids compaction, provides a good home for microorganisms that help recylce the organics into nutrients, etc.

HTH.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
When using more than 1 layer of any kind of substrate dont you get mixing though? With peat wouldnt this mixing be bad? Also, Art where can you get this akadama soil and power sand and what are they? Ive never heard of this substrate, I guess I am a newb lol.

·
Registered
1,580 Posts