Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm curious to find out what everyone does for their tanks when they go on vacation. Are there pucks on the market that will dose the plants the same as the ones used for fish.

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts
I keep my lights on a timer (a cheap one from home depot) and I dose ferts all at once for the days I'll be gone. I was recently out for a whole week and had a neighbor come over and dose my ferts half-way through the week and it went okay. There are automatic dosing timers, but I have no experience with them. As for fish, they can go a week with out food, but they'll nibble your plants.

-Dave

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Davemonkey,

Did you find any problems with an algae breakout or anything noticable from dosing all at once?
I am trying to prepare for about 8-9 days away and my auto-feeder/doser (the brother inlaw) is moving out.....YAY! but I'm sure I could find someone to pop in. I have the timer already (with battery backup, very important) but I usually come home to some sort of problem. I think that Murphy guy and his law have something to do with it.

·
Registered
534 Posts
I have a friend feed my fish when I am on vacation, but I do not have him dose any ferts. I skip the last water change before the trip and let the fert build up take control. Last time I came back from a weeks vacation I just changed my water and went back to my normal routine. Things seemed to be fine when I came home. The growth slowed down a little but quickly restarted to it's normal growth.

·
Premium Member
4,877 Posts
Thanks Davemonkey,

Did you find any problems with an algae breakout or anything noticable from dosing all at once?