Aquatic Plant Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I'm new to looking for local biotope plants. I've went looking the past couple days, but have drawn a blank. I really have no idea where or what to look for. Should I be looking in slower moving water/river, pools of water, boggy like area, lakes, drainage ditches, or streams?

So far I've looked in a stream that runs by my house, but it appears to me (the untrained eye) that there really isn't much/if any that would be well suited for an aquarium. It seems like the water may be to fast moving for the type of plants that I would be looking for. I really don't want plants that will rapidly grow out of the tank. I would like something that would be more suited to staying submersed in water.

Once I do find an area to look, how do I know what to look for? Are there tell tale signs that I should look for?

I'm in the Austin, TX area so I have a fairly wide variety of lakes, rivers, streams, etc. that I can go to.

·
Registered
2,173 Posts
Bigole,

You're going to have the most luck looking in drainage ditches, ponds/lakes, pools, and on the banks of slower moving streams. Sometimes you'll find plants growing in the faster areas of a stream as well. When you do, you can be pretty sure that they're going to work as it's not likely that the main channel dries up and the plants will have been in water most of the year.

Unless you know specifically what the plants look like when grown emersed your best bet is to take a selection of plants you think are likely candidates and put them in your tank. Some will grow and others won't.

Best,
Phil

·
Registered
542 Posts
Dear Bigoletankoffish,