Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to this wonderful forum, and I thought I'd start off my first posting by addressing something I’ve always wondered.

Why does ADA use C02 diffusers instead of C02 reactors? I mean if u look at ADA's glass intake and outtake tubes, it's obvious the goal is eliminate visible equipment in the tank.

Diffusers aren’t 100% efficient in diffusing the c02, they’re visible equipment in the tank, and require regular cleanings. Reactors, on the other hand, seem far superior: more efficient, not in the tank, and basically maintenance free.

I doubt it’s just a marketing ploy to make money. I’m sure ADA could just as easily make reactors and sell them too. Is it just to watch those little bubbles? But that doesn’t make any sense! Wouldn’t that detract from the beauty of the tank?

I’m at a loss… Anyone?

Thanks

Byron

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
Bubbles are pretty.

From the photos I have seen of aquariums in Japan, I assume many non-professional aquarists use small (paint-ball-like) CO2 tanks less than 5lb in size and more like 2lb. As such, a diffuser offers the aquarist the opportunity to observe CO2 delivery rate and adjust according to needs - also to observe when the tank is getting low on pressure.

ADA uses its own equipment to create great aquascapes and to encourage people to buy ADA equipment and fertilizers. In America, don't people in the computer industry call that eating your own dog food?

Andrew Cribb

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hmm... using the diffuser to check ur c02 pressure? Isn't that what bubble counters are for? In fact, ada sells bubble counters too. And especially if they are using 2lb tanks for c02, don't they want to get the most out of the c02 they are injecting?