Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
will this soil work for walstad tank?

HI folks. First time posting! I'm still new to the hobby (started 1/19 with planted tanks) and I love them. I want to try a walstad tank and have been working on getting through her book. I just got a new 54 gallon corner aquarium.

So. Soil.
I was able to find this easily enough:
https://www.miraclegro.com/en-us/pr...-performance-organics-all-purpose-ground-soil
But I haven't been able to find if it is ok for a walstad tank. I'm trying to prove to some folks in the house that dirt will be successful in an aquarium and I also just want to succeed for myself.
The product, if you don't want to click on the link, is the Miracle Gro Performance Organics In-ground soil. The fertilizer comes from various sources including soy meal, feather meal, and bone meal. It has a higher nitrogen percentage but lower phosphate and potash percentage.

I have tap water that is hard (dGH is 9-100) with KH of about 4. So Not sure if the peat will greatly affect my pH, which is usually around 7.4-7.6.

Any help would be awesome!

·
Registered
5 Posts
I would stick w/Walstead's Miracle Gro Organic Choice potting mix. This product you are looking at appears to have fertilizer in it and that is asking for trouble. Stick w/what works and not what appears to be something w/more horse power and save yourself aggravation and grief.

·
Super Moderator
5,791 Posts
Welcome to APC!

This soil is a little more fertile (has more nutrients) than ideal for aquarium use. If you use it straight from the bag you may see ammonia spikes or a lot of algae. You can deal with this in several ways:

1. Lots of water changes during the first few months.
2. Do several soak and drain cycles with the soil before it goes in the tank. This is part of the mineralization technique which is discussed in detail in this forum and the library.