Aquatic Plant Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This is my second day of fiddling with pics of my tank. I have a crappy Canon Powershot A60 (going for $130US on ebay right now), IT'S ONLY 2MP. I am really new at this, but with the help of niko he's showed me that with a few tricks you can really take some nice pics with a terrible camera (zoom doesn't even really work on mine lol).

Sorry about the algae, I think you can see it waving at you!

Jason.

·
Registered
4,116 Posts
That was fun to do and I learned too - that a 2 Mpx camera is not bad at all.

Please look at the sharpness of those pictures, not necessarily the composition. I'd say that sharper images would be possible if the light was precisely controlled and directed. For an improvised photo shoot these 2 Mpx pictures are quite impressive.

--Nikolay

·
Registered
1,789 Posts
Yes!!!!

turtlehead said:
the settings on the camera are more important than anything else, I can take good pictures with a sony 2.0mp and have them turn up great with out using adobe.
Yes!!!! it doesn't really matter about the mega pixels. I usually reconmend photographers buying manual settings camera. The pictures you took look great, although lenses are important too.

·
Registered
811 Posts
It would take something around 8MP to look significantly improved from 2MP. It takes a doubling of linear resolution, or a quadrupling of the total pixels (MP), to make a significant difference, and only then if you're printing above 11 x 14."

·
Registered
33 Posts
Hi,
yes the camra is really not the most important thing about photography but the skills and the light. I still have my old Canon A200 (2Mio. pxl), a simple camera with a terrible digital zoom (my one does not even work anymore but I almost never needed it before), no optical zoom and a flash which needs 20(!) seconds to reload. Here are some picture I took with my A200: